About Lubos Pastor

Lubos Pastor is Charles P. McQuaid Professor of Finance at the University of Chicago Booth School of Business. At the University, he also serves as a director of the Center for Research in Security Prices (CRSP), member of the CRSP Indexes Advisory Council, and member of the board of the Fama-Miller Center for Research in Finance. Outside the University, he serves as a member of the Bank Board of the National Bank of Slovakia, director of the European Finance Association, Research Associate at the National Bureau of Economic Research, and Research Fellow at the Centre for Economic Policy and Research. He has served as president of the Western Finance Association, director of the American Finance Association, co-director of the Fama-Miller Center for Research in Finance, and Associate Editor of the Journal of FinanceJournal of Financial Economics, and the Review of Financial Studies.

Professor Pastor’s research focuses mostly on financial markets and asset management. He has written on a broad range of topics such as liquidity risk, political risk, sustainable investing, stock price bubbles, return predictability, portfolio choice, performance evaluation, returns to scale in asset management, indexing, learning, technological revolutions, income inequality, populism, quantitative easing, and IPOs. His articles have appeared in the American Economic Review, Journal of Finance, Journal of Financial Economics, Journal of Monetary Economics, Journal of Political Economy, Review of Financial Studies, and other outlets. His research has been awarded numerous prizes, such as two Smith Breeden Prizes, three Fama/DFA Prizes, AQR Insight Award, Barclays Global Investors Prize, BlackRock Research Award, Goldman Sachs Asset Management Prize, NASDAQ Award, QMA Award, and Q Group Award.

Professor Pastor has been teaching at Chicago Booth since 1999 when he obtained a Ph.D. in finance from the Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania. He has received the McKinsey Award for Excellence in Teaching as well as two Faculty Excellence Awards at Chicago Booth.